Zion Medical Treatment Center has earned the esteemed 254D certification, demonstrating our commitment to professional healthcare excellence.

Who Qualifies for Integrated Community Supports?

Eligible companies holding a 245D/Waiver/HCBS license may apply to establish any number of Integrated Community Supports (ICS) locations.

ICS, a service tailored for adults residing in an ICS environment, requires the provider to have ownership, operational control, or a financial stake in the living units or properties where services are rendered.

Adults under the following waivers are entitled to access ICS:

  • Brain Injury (BI)
  • Community Access for Disability Inclusion (CADI)
  • Community Alternative Care (CAC)
  • Developmental Disabilities (DD)

ICS fulfills the habilitation criteria specified in the DD waiver.

What Are Integrated Community Supports?

Integrated Community Supports (ICS), authorized under the 245D license, are designed for adults 18 years and older who qualify for the BI, CAC, CADI, or DD waivers. In this program, providers deliver assistance including supervision, prompting, and aid, coupled with instructional support for adults within a multifamily residential setting managed by the provider, termed as the integrated community supports environment. These support services by providers can be provided continuously, up to a full 24-hour period each day. In how it operates and is structured, ICS is akin to what is traditionally known as “group homes” in residential program terms.

It’s important to keep in mind that facilities licensed or registered under Minn. Stat. Chapter 144D or Minn. Stat. Chapter 144G that offer customized living or assisted living services, as well as those licensed under Minn. Stat. Chapter 245A or Minn. Stat. Chapter 245D that provide adult foster care, child foster care, community residential services, or family residential services may not cover Individualized Community Supports (ICS).

ICS provides personalized support training in four areas of community living services, including community participation, health and safety and wellness, household management, and adaptive skills. The program aims to empower individuals, helping them gain the skills and confidence necessary to live independently and participate fully in their communities. However, it is crucial to remember that the availability of ICS services may be limited in specific licensed or registered settings, as mentioned above.

What is an Integrated Community Supports Setting?

An integrated community support setting is a multifamily housing building where the service provider has direct or indirect control over the individual’s living unit and has an approved capacity report.

This type of setting is considered a provider-controlled 245D/Waiver/HCBS setting, which must comply with all requirements for HCBS settings in 42 CFR 441.301(c). However, it does not meet the requirements of a person’s home, community, or family residential program.

A living unit is a self-contained residential unit with areas for living, sleeping, eating, cooking, and bathroom use. It can only be shared if the recipient chooses to have a roommate.

A multifamily housing building will have multiple living units.

Suppose a single provider leases or owns more than one living setting on the same or adjoining property. In that case, the lead agency can only authorize services in one of the settings.

What Do I Need to Start?

To commence the Integrated Community Supports (ICS) licensing process, you must have an active 245D/Waiver/HCBS license and a suitable setting. For settings under the control of providers, ICS settings, which are considered home and community-based services (HCBS), must feature no less than three living units to provide ICS services and must not be linked to any institution.

ICS services can be extended in various residential settings, such as all living units in a multifamily housing building with three or four units. Less than 25% of the units are in buildings with five or more units, and 25% or more units are in buildings with five or more units, provided that DHS approves a site-specific review.

What Is the Process and How Long Does It Take To Start?

To start Integrated Community Supports (ICS) licensing, an active 245D/Waiver/HCBS license and a suitable setting are needed. ICS settings, classified as HCBS provider-controlled, require a minimum of three living units and cannot be institutionally connected. ICS serves adults on BI, CAC, CADI, or DD waivers, and providers must be financially interested in the housing where services are delivered. It includes support and training in multifamily housing units, with daily service support of up to 24 hours, similar to group homes. ICS is not applicable in certain licensed settings like adult or child foster care.

ICS offers training in community participation, health and safety, household management, and adaptive skills. An ICS setting is a multifamily housing building where the provider controls the living unit. It must comply with HCBS requirements and is distinct from a person’s own home or community residential program.

The licensing process varies: for less than 25% capacity, it takes 6–7 months and requires a Setting Capacity report, Master Lease, and Residential Lease. For 25% or more capacity, it takes 7–8 months, requiring additional documentation for community integration and quality improvement processes, specialized care, and input from lead agencies and the community.


CBSM – Integrated Community Supports

Integrated Community Supports FAQs